## **TETL 2021-22 Empowered Superintendent Award**

The **Texas Education Technology Leaders** is pleased to announce that the winner of this year's Empowered Superintendent Award goes to **Dr. Holly Ferguson** of **Prosper ISD** for her support of innovative uses of technology in their district.

Dr. Holly Ferguson became the superintendent at Prosper ISD in June 2020, shortly after the pandemic was declared. She immediately demonstrated tremendous resilience and flexibility, meeting ever-changing demands and requirements, while always making the safety and success of students the priority. In addition, she invested in developing leadership cohorts within the district by making sure professional learning provided both in-person and online options for all staff.

Dr. Ferguson has been a champion of technology in their district during her tenure as principal, assistant superintendent of curriculum, and now as superintendent. She helped move the district towards a 1:1 program and supported training teachers to become Google Certified Educators. Dr. Ferguson worked with the Instructional Media Department to reimagine the role of the librarian and what library and instructional technology services looked like.

Dr. Ferguson's dedication to creating a culture of innovation extends beyond the technological realm. She approved the district's Research Impacting Student Excellence (RISE) program which allows teachers to pilot instructional strategies that are not currently seeing widespread use. Teachers follow an action research model to monitor the effectiveness of their innovative approach on student growth. Dr. Ferguson has also recognized the importance of building new schools with instructional spaces adequate to reflect teaching and learning styles that encourage collaboration, invite creativity, and integrate technology seamlessly while still being sustainable areas.

We congratulate her on winning this award!

Texas Education Technology Leaders (TETL) is a chapter of the Consortium for School Networking (CoSN) and is the premier organization for technology leaders in Texas K-12 school districts.